Preacher Boy by Gwyn GB – @rararesources Blog Tour

Good afternoon, bookworm, do come in! Did you manage to see the eclipse this morning? The Science and Astronomy books have been excited for days and were most aggrieved by the clouds blocking their view. I often think of what it must have been like for people hundreds of years ago who saw an eclipse and were probably terrified that it was something satanic occurring in their skies… Speaking of satanic, I’ve recently read a book called Preacher Boy by Gwyn GB, have you heard of it? Have a piece of moon pie and a cup of tea while I tell you all about it.

Firstly, here’s the blurb:

IT’S TIME FOR A NEW CRIME MYSTERY HERO

Dr Harrison Lane is everything you wouldn’t expect from a man with a psychology doctorate. For victims, he’s everything they need.

They look, but they don’t see…

As Head of the Metropolitan Police’s Ritualistic Behavioural Crimes Unit, Dr Harrison Lane knows his Voodoo from his Aum Shinrikyo and a Satanist from a Shaman.

Harrison had an unusual childhood, raised by a bohemian mother and one of the native American Shadow Wolves – the elite tracking squad that works with US Drug enforcers. After his mother’s murder, he dedicated his life to tracking down those who hide behind spiritualism and religion to do evil.

Following the discovery of a missing boy’s body in what looks like a Satanic killing, Harrison is called in to help detectives. When a second boy is snatched, it becomes a race against time to save him, and sees Harrison come face-to-face with some dark secrets from his own childhood.

Preacher Boy is the first book in a gripping new crime mystery series from Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, Gwyn GB. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, J.R. Ellis, J M Dalgliesh, Rachel Abbott, Joy Ellis and David Blake.

Now here’s a little about the author:

Gwyn is an Amazon Top 20 bestselling author. She’s a former UK national TV newscaster and presenter, and journalist for national newspapers and magazines. Gwyn became a journalist because all she wanted to do was write and has finally realised her dream of being a full-time fiction author. Born in the UK, Gwyn now lives in the Channel Islands with her family, including a rescue dog and 17-year-old goldfish.

Gwyn launched her debut novel, Islands as Gwyn Garfield-Bennett in 2016, the romantic suspense book rose quickly into the Amazon top 20. Her first crime mystery series, featuring DI Falle, launched with Lonely Hearts in 2017.

And here’s my review: Well, I think I’ve found a new author to add to my favourites list! This is the first novel in the Dr Harrison Lane series and I’ll be watching for the sequels from now on. It’s clear from the beginning that he’s not like the other Metropolitan Police personnel we come across in the book and he has those who respect his knowledge and skills, such as DCI Barker, and those who are sceptical of his practises and abilities, such as DS Salter.

As the novel involves the killing of children, the subject matter may make some readers hesitate but there’s no gory details added for shock value, just the need to know information for the plot. The parents’ grief was sensitively handled too, although I admit I hugged my own children extra tight and had a conversation about staying safe.

The novel is quick paced and I found myself devouring it each night before bed, trying to force my sleepy eyes to stay open just a little longer so I could see what was going to happen next. I also liked the back stories, one of which really struck a chord with me of DS Salter’s dreams of becoming a father versus the realities of his wife’s post-natal depression following a traumatic childbirth experience and feeling helpless as to how to support the love of his life and their baby son.

I don’t want to say too much in case I spoil anything for you but I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to the next one already – I think fans of James Patterson will enjoy this book too, along with the other authors mentioned in the blurb. 4.5 stars from me!

If you like the sound of this novel, you can click on the book image above to go to the relevant page on Amazon. I don’t receive anything for providing the link, I’m just being a helpful bookworm. Thanks to the author, publisher and Rachel’s Random Resources for the gifted digital copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.

Well bookworm, I must get on. There appear to be a number of homemade eclipse viewers littering the library, presumably discarded in disgust by the Science and Astronomy books. I’d better go and listen to them tell me some interesting facts about eclipses, Galileo etc to soothe them. Until next time bookworm, farewell!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s